The state of Florida was given the authority to execute inmates by the 1923 Legislature, and the following year Frank Johnson was the first inmate ever executed by the state. Male inmates under sentence of death are housed at Union Correctional Institution (CI) at Raiford or Florida State Prison in Starke, and female inmates reside at Broward C.I. in Pembroke Pines. The sole method of execution in Florida is the electric chair. The executioner is an anonymous, private citizen who is paid $150 per execution.
This section details the death row population over the last 10 years, the most frequent counties of conviction and the nature of additions and removals from death row.
|Death Row Population
at the end of each Fiscal Year